2016 AMCNO Annual Meeting Wrap-Up

The Academy of Medicine of Cleveland & Northern Ohio (AMCNO) held its Annual Meeting and Awards Presentation on Friday, April 15, at the Wyndham Cleveland. One of the evening’s highlights was the presentation of the John H. Budd, MD, Distinguished Membership Award to Daniel I. Simon, MD. Dr. Simon received the award in recognition of his contributions to the field of cardiovascular medicine, his exemplary leadership skills and for his commitment and dedication to the Northern Ohio medical community.  

The Charles L. Hudson, MD, Award was presented to Kevin T. Geraci, MD, in recognition of his work as a physician leader in the Northern Ohio community and for his longstanding involvement in the AMCNO. The Clinician of the Year Award was bestowed upon James K. Stoller, MD, in recognition of his contributions to clinical medicine and his service to his patients over many years that have reflected the highest ideals and ethics of, and personal devotion to, the medical profession.

Robert W. Hostoffer, Jr., DO, was presented the Outstanding Service Award in recognition of his steadfast commitment to the AMCNO, in particular for his longstanding assistance with the AMCNO Pollen Line.  

William T. Ryan received the Honorary Membership Award for his longstanding commitment to the hospital community in Northern Ohio, along with his passion for health and human services issues. Michael K. McIntyre received the Special Recognition Award for his significant contributions to the healthcare community through the media. His efforts to provide balanced reports on the ever-changing medical landscape in Cleveland are unmatched in our community.

Martin T. Galvin, Esq., received the Presidential Citation Award in recognition of his leadership over the past year in assisting the AMCNO with appellate cases and matters under review by the Ohio Supreme Court that could impact the tort reform laws in Ohio.

The Academy of Medicine Education Foundation awarded six $5,000 scholarships to medical students from Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine of Case Western Reserve, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, Ohio University College of Medicine, and the Northeast Ohio Medical University. This was the 11th year that scholarship monies were presented to recipients as part of the program at the AMCNO’s Annual Meeting, with students and their respective families in attendance. And, as always, physician members celebrating their 50th anniversary of their medical school graduation were honored during the program as well. Following the ceremony, outgoing President Matthew E. Levy, MD, passed the AMCNO gavel for the 2016-2017 term to incoming President Robert E. Hobbs, MD.

The Pollen Line is now closed. See you in the spring!

Grass: 0
Mold: 0

Weed: 0

Tree: 0

Ragweed: 0

AMCNO on Twitter