ICD-10-CM is the new diagnosis coding system that is being developed as a replacement for ICD-9-CM, Volumes 1 & 2. The new code set includes five times as many codes as the ICD-9 codes. The new set of codes will result in sweeping changes in how coding is conducted in the physician practice. They will result in more documentation, revised forms, retraining of staff and physicians and changes to software and other information technology

ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes have three to five digits that are mostly numeric (supplemental chapters have an alpha first digit). The ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes have three to seven digits with an alpha first digit, numeric second digit and alpha or numeric third through seventh digits.

Click here for the latest ICD-10 information from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).

For more information on ICD-10 from the Ohio Bureau of Worker’s Compensation click here.


The AMCNO has published numerous articles about the transition to ICD-10 coding. Click the following links to view these articles.

Next Steps for ICD-10 Compliance

ICD-10 Has Arrived...Now What?

ICD-10 Starts This Week—October 1!

MORE ICD-10 Information from the American Medical Association

CMS Clarifies ICD-10 Guidance

CMS and AMA Announce Efforts to help Get Ready for ICD-10

Ohio Medicaid on Target for ICD-10 Compliance

CMS Reminder: ICD-10 Compliance Date is Oct. 1, 2015

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Revising CMS-1500 Form


ICD-10 Straight Talk: Overview - Article 1

ICD-10 Straight Talk: Overview - Article 2 

ICD-10 Preparation-Five Things to Do Right Now


Additional information can also be found on our Twitter feed.

The Pollen Line is now closed. See you in the spring!

Grass: 0
Mold: 0

Weed: 0

Tree: 0

Ragweed: 0

AMCNO on Twitter